1982: “Thriller”- Michael Jackson

1982

I’ve neglected this blog for a couple of months but i’ll try to get back on track. There’s been a fair bit going on!

1982. The Year of Thriller. Forgetting how Michael Jackson’s career/life ended up, there’s no denying that for people born in the late 70’s/early 80’s he was the musical icon of their childhood. All the kids that are now dancing to Rihanna and Katy Perry and dare i say it, Justin Bieber would have been getting down to Billie Jean, Bad and Smooth Criminal at birthday parties if they were born when I was. Everyone pretended to be Michael Jackson with his crazy leg flicking, crotch grabbing, arm flailing dancing at some point. Even me before the awkward shy stage kicked in. Not to mention moonwalking. I maintain to this day that if I could moonwalk, really authentically moonwalk, then I would very rarely walk forwards.

This is the first album in this blog that i can actually remember someone owning around its time of release. My Auntie had a vinyl copy and i used to look at the sleeve, pretty much ignoring Jackson but wishing I had a small tiger. Sadly this dream was never realised. Eventually I saw past the cover to the actual music and loved it.

As kids I think most of us were only bothered about the up tempo tracks. “Billie Jean”, “Thriller”, “Beat It”, and “Wanna Be Startin’ Something”. Songs where you can jump about. Although I think even aged 5 I wondered why he was calling someone a vegetable and a buffet in the latter. All the tracks pretty much stand up today though. Except maybe “The Lady In My Life” which is a fairly forgettable ballad.

The duet with Paul McCartney is I suppose a bit weird. In what world would Jackson and McCartney be competing for the same girl? Unless by “girl” they actually mean “rights to the Beatles back catalogue”

My favourite song is this one. The intro keyboard part still sounds pretty perfect and i think the whole feel of the song is ace. I still can’t hear it now without imagining someone going “S. Double. U. V” over it though.

Leave a Reply

